Hello everyone.

I just found out about FreeSpace Open Source Project yesterday. I then emailed Inquisitor since I couldn't find anything on all the broken websites. Glad I could find you all.

Just to let you know, I am a computer technician. I am studying on my own right now some C# & Managed DirectX and it would be my very long time goal to port all the code in C#. Probably will never happen, but eh, I have faith anyway :lol:

Welcome to the show, Elvedin. HLP is supposedly going to come up in a few days (yeah, Gamespy, we believe you)...

But enough gloom and doom. Welcome, enjoy yourself, try to watch out for the forcefields... those things have a nasty zap to them.
"I like the funny sounds of parrots squawking,"
- Jimmy Buffet

Whoa! Welcome, Elvedin. It's a good thing we got this forum when we did. :D

I think I can tell you right now that we aren't porting FS2 to C#. Just like we aren't porting it to Java. If you don't mind programming in C or C++, though, we'd be happy to have you on board. :)
Fortunes of War
Deus Ex Machina

VWBB Survivor: 12/01-7/04, 130 posts

Out of curiosity, is anyone still working on porting it to Linux?

I remember something about that over at HLP, but I don't remember what it was...
"I like the funny sounds of parrots squawking,"
- Jimmy Buffet

I would be happy to join your ranks. The problem is that I don't have a lot f spare time and that it will be the first time I fiddle with gaming code. I studied C and C++ at school, but we never went to deep in the code.

If you people can bare with me, maybe I can learn enough to do something useful. But it will take time, that's for sure. But I really want to try my best.

I'll start looking at the code when I get home and see if it overwhelms me or not. I will also probably post some functions that I don't understand sometimes. Let's just hope it doesn't bother all of you :razz: