Page 1 of 1

FS1 Longplay: Doing it vanilla or FSOPEN?

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:00 am
by Hunter
So for my new longplay channel (Linux Longplays) I have both FreeSpace games lined up. For FS2 I will be using FSOPEN without the media VPs, but for FS1 I'm undecided if to play it through the FSPORT or use vanilla FS1 with the glide wrapper. Any thoughts?

Re: FS1 Longplay: Doing it vanilla or FSOPEN?

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:27 am
by Xelions
without the media VPs
Burn the heretic! But the media VPs make it look really pretty!? :shock:

Re: FS1 Longplay: Doing it vanilla or FSOPEN?

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 11:03 am
by Hunter
I'll have to think about it. Pretty yes, but it's not an authentic experience and it kind of violates longplayer code. And even if it didn't, a heavily modded game is probably too much of a strain for my PC to record in 60fps at 1080p.

Re: FS1 Longplay: Doing it vanilla or FSOPEN?

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:16 pm
by karajorma
You're not allowed mods for longplays?

Re: FS1 Longplay: Doing it vanilla or FSOPEN?

Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:23 am
by Hunter
I don't think there is any rule that says you can't use mods. I just don't use them in most games because they would tax my system more than necessary when recording in high quality, and in some cases it already takes a lot of fiddling to get games running on Linux. Introducing mods just adds another layer of problems. I'll have to see if FSOPEN runs well enough while recording on my system.

Re: FS1 Longplay: Doing it vanilla or FSOPEN?

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:47 am
by Hippo
This is intriguing. What are you capturing with?

Re: FS1 Longplay: Doing it vanilla or FSOPEN?

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 1:18 am
by Hunter
A simple screen capture that records in 1080p 60fps. I have OBS but don't use it, I use a Linux package which offers better performance.

Re: FS1 Longplay: Doing it vanilla or FSOPEN?

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 3:23 pm
by Hippo
If I can capture decently I may do the same thing

Re: FS1 Longplay: Doing it vanilla or FSOPEN?

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:59 am
by Hunter
My computer is only mid range, and 5 years old at that. It can play FSOPEN fine, and it can capture 1080p 60fps fine. But it probably can't do both at the same time, at least not from my experience with other games. Any game that requires more than 50% of the CPU will start to struggle in the recording process. That's why I'm focusing on old games, because I know I can do both. Of course I could reduce to 30fps, that'd probably work for some titles..

Re: FS1 Longplay: Doing it vanilla or FSOPEN?

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:47 pm
by Hippo
I built mine about the same time ago but havent really tested it. The built in windows gameplay feature does fine with most steam games, but it's also only usually grabbing the last x minutes that are still in the graphics card memory. I'll give it a try soon.

Re: FS1 Longplay: Doing it vanilla or FSOPEN?

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 2:10 pm
by Hunter
It also depends on the codec and level of compression. An SSD definitely heps, too.

Re: FS1 Longplay: Doing it vanilla or FSOPEN?

Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 1:18 am
by Hippo
So I got excited and played through the FS Port in about 2 sittings... Maybe in a few weeks i'll slow down and do a recorded playthrough...

Re: FS1 Longplay: Doing it vanilla or FSOPEN?

Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:38 am
by Hunter
I recently took delivery of a new stick, so I'm prepped for a play through soon. I'm actually taking some time away from the chair lately, to heal and recover. I find myself with more aches and pains than I used to so I gotta cut down my hours at a desk. Either way I expect to get all the Freespace and Descent longplays done this summer.